Research Ethics Committee at the University of Bayreuth

The University of Bayreuth's Research Ethics Committee assesses ethical and legal aspects of the research on human beings and animals carried out at the University of Bayreuth. The committee supports researchers by providing specialized consulting. The members of the Research Ethics Committee contribute in this capacity on a volunteer basis.

Committee members 
The chairman of the Research Ethics Committee is Prof. Dr. Dr. Klaus Nagels. The remaining committee members are.

  • Prof. Dr. Carsten Bäcker
  • Prof. Dr. Karin Birkner
  • Prof. Dr. Ruth Freitag
  • Prof. Dr. Kai Purnhagen
  • Prof. Dr. Olivier Roy
  • Prof. Dr. Benedikt Westermann

The committee's duties are laid out in its Regulations and Rules of Procedure (dated 23.03.2017), as amended.

Guide to submitting requests

Further information on mandatory guidelines and legal regulations for researchers

Nagoya Protocol

Animal protection in research

Handling Security-Relevant Research


Silhouette eines weiblichen Avatars

Katrin WinklerCommittee Office

Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-5364
Office: Room 2.25.1, Building ZUV, Universitätsstraße 30, 95447 Bayreuth