World map of the Afropean Global alliance

A European University for Responsible Transformation: EURESTRA

Twelve Higher Education institutions across Europe have joined forces to boost the European Higher Education Area and the European Research Area in an innovative approach: EURESTRA.

EURESTRA addresses a global transformation.

EURESTRA is a forum for responsible change in Europe.

EURESTRA aims to be a Higher Education Platform for exchange across borders and continents.

EURESTRA aims to provide a comprehensive perspective on Europe's interwovenness in the world, especially with Africa, in the context of challenging global transformations.

EURESTRA will develop joint interdisciplinary programmes with advanced formats, innovative pedagogical approaches and pioneering methodologies in education and research.

Our Focus areas are ...

The fundamental purpose of EURESTRA is to create a European University that opens space for the responsible transformation of European higher education and society, in a global context. 

  • Sustainability Challenges in Technological Development
  • One Health
  • Human Past and Global Heritage
  • African Global Studies and Competences Framework
  • Diversity and Inclusion

The Partners of the alliance “EURESTRA”

EURESTRA consists of 12 comprehensive research universities with a shared vision of the interwovenness of Europe with and its responsibility in the world, notably Africa, connected by shared and complementary strengths and a proven record of joint accomplishments, located in 10 different countries in Central, Eastern, Northern and Southern Europe including the Balkans as well as in the outer-most European region La Réunion.

Logo der Università degli Studi di Napoli L'Orientale, Italien
Logo MOI University, Kenia
Logo der Wirtschaftsuniversität Athen (Athens University of Economics and Business), Griechenland
Logo der Institut d’études politiques de Bordeaux (Sciences Po Bordeaux), Frankreich
Logo der University of Lagos, Nigeria
Logo der Universität Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Logo der Universität Pablo de Olavide (Universidad Pablo de Olavide Sevilla), Spanien
Logo der Universität Bayreuth
Logo der Universität Mohammed V. in Rabat, Marokko.
Logo der Universität Sarajevo, Bosnien und Herzegowina
Logo der Pädagogischen Universität Maputo, Mosambik
Logo der Universität Bordeaux Montaigne (Université Bordeaux Montaigne), Frankreich
Logo der Universität Hradec Králové (Univerzita Hradec Králové), Tschechien
Logo der Universität Trás-os-Montes und Alto Douro, Portugal
Logo der Stettiner Universität (Uniwersytet Szczeciński), Polen
Logo der Rhodes-Universität, Südafrika
Logo der Universität La Réunion
Logo Mid Sweden University

Your contact

Dr. Arnim Heinemann

Dr. Arnim HeinemannHead of the International Office