Logo Universität Bayreuth

University of Bayreuth, Press Release No. 135/2023, 22.09.2023

Dr. Ingo Schmidt appointed to the Board of Trustees of the University of Bayreuth

The Board of Trustees of the University of Bayreuth has a new member: Dr. Ingo Schmidt, Director of Finance and Regulation at TenneT TSO GmbH, has been a member of this body since 1 September.

Heribert Trunk, Dr. Ingo Schmidt und Prof. Dr. Nina Nestler (vl.) im Anschluss an die Kuratoriumssitzung.

The Board of Trustees of the University of Bayreuth consists of up to 20 personalities from business, culture and politics who are particularly committed to the concerns of the University of Bayreuth. With Dr. Ingo Schmidt, another member has now been appointed to the Board of Trustees as of 1 September 2023.

Schmidt is himself an alumnus of the University of Bayreuth. He studied business administration in Bayreuth, was a research assistant and received his doctorate in 2007 with a dissertation on international accounting at the Chair of Business Taxation and Auditing at the University of Bayreuth. "As an alumnus, former research assistant and member of the advisory board of BayBatt, I have been closely associated with the University of Bayreuth for many years. I am very pleased to be able to deepen the excellent cooperation with TenneT as one of the largest companies in the region on the Board of Trustees, and I am happy to contribute my professional network and my many years of experience as an executive in energy and infrastructure companies with social responsibility," says Schmidt.

Since autumn 2021, there has been an agreement (Letter of Intent) between the University of Bayreuth and transmission grid operator TenneT on more intensive knowledge exchange, research and development projects and talent development. "Cooperation with companies from the region has always been important to us," says Prof. Dr Stefan Leible, President of the University of Bayreuth, too. "That is why it is an enormous gain for us to now have a representative from TenneT on the Board of Trustees with Dr Schmidt."

"Dr. Ingo Schmidt's participation in the Board of Trustees is a double pleasure for me," explains the Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Heribert Trunk. "On the one hand, as a graduate and doctoral student of our university, an insider from his student days, and on the other hand, as director of TenneT TSO GmbH, one of the responsible personalities for the future lifelines of the home country, namely the electricity grids: so he brings double expertise, and that enriches us."

The members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the university management for a period of five years. The Board of Trustees has the task of representing the university's interests in public and advising it in its work.

Dr. Maike Voigt

Dr. Maike Brütting

Jennifer Opel

Jennifer Opel (on maternity/parental leave)Deputy Press & PR Manager

Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-5357
E-mail: jennifer.opel@uni-bayreuth.de