University of Bayreuth, Press Release No. 073/2022 -  13 May 2022

Election of Vice-Presidents at the University of Bayreuth

The University Council and Senate of the University of Bayreuth, yesterday voting on important matters of personnel, has elected Prof. Dr. Nina Nestler, Chair of Criminal Law III, Vice President for Internationalization, Equal Opportunities & Diversity. Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheibel is to become the new Vice President for Research & Junior Scholars. And meanwhile, German scholar Prof. Dr. Martin Huber has once again been elected Vice President for Teaching & Learning.

Die Mitglieder der Hochschulleitung der Universität Bayreuth nebeneinander stehend

The university governing board as of fall 2022: (from left) University President Prof. Dr. Stefan Leible, Vice President Teaching and Students Prof. Dr. Martin Huber, Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wöhrl, Women's Representative, Vice President Internationalization, Equal Opportunity and Diversity Prof. Dr. Nina Nestler, University Chancellor Dr. Nicole Kaiser, Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheibel, Vice President Research and Young Academics, and Prof. Dr. Susanne Tittlbach, Vice President Digitalization, Innovation and Sustainability. 

Prof. Dr. Nina Nestler, Chair of Criminal Law III, will take over the area of internationalization, gender equality & diversity on 1 October. "In Prof. Dr. Nestler, we have gained a highly competent colleague with international experience, who will perfectly support and enrich our work as the University Governing Board," explains University President Prof. Dr. Stefan Leible. "The areas of internationalization, gender equality & diversity are more important today than ever before," says Prof. Dr. Nestler. "Our university is faced with completely new, additional tasks, and a lot of responsibility. Networking, integration, and lived diversity strengthen the international solidarity of universities and make it visible to the outside world. Continuing to make these aspects of my remit a lived reality is a matter of passion for me."

Prof. Dr. Nina Nestler

CV Prof. Dr. Nina Nestler:

Prof. Dr. Nina Nestler received her doctorate summa cum laude in 2008 after studying law and completing her legal traineeship. Her habilitation (2012) at the law faculty of the Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg was followed by teaching posts at the University of Constance (Chair of German and European Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure) and the University of Bayreuth. Since April 2014, she has been Chair of Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure Law, Commercial Criminal Law and International Criminal Law. Nestler has been Deputy Chair of the Ethics Committee of the University of Bayreuth since January 2015 and Dean of Studies of the Faculty of Law and Economics (Law Department) since October 2017. She is dedicated to the issue of internationalization in numerous fields of activity: she was involved in the creation of the University of Bayreuth’s Internationalisation Strategy 2030, participates in cooperations with the partner universities of Deakin and La Trobe in Melbourne, and is the ombudswoman of the Cluster of Excellence Africa Multiple.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheibel, Chair of Biomaterials, will succeed Prof. Dr. Britta Planer-Friedrich, who will step down prematurely for health reasons, on 1 October. "Like my predecessor, I will work to ensure the University of Bayreuth continues to develop as an excellent research organisation and, above all, offers young researchers opportunities. The competition among universities is getting tougher. If we wish to keep the University of Bayreuth at the top level, this is indispensable," says Scheibel. University President Leible explains: "I am deeply sorry that our colleague Prof. Dr. Planer-Friedrich will no longer available as Vice President. She took on her office one year ago and fulfilled it with great dedication. On behalf of all members of the University I wish her all the best."

Prof. Dr. Martin Huber, Chair of Modern German Literary Studies, will begin his fourth term on 1 December. "With his experience, he thus ensures continuity in this important area of teaching & learning," says University President Stefan Leible and emphasises: "I am glad to be keeping our comrade-in-arms by our side, who with great commitment ensured that we were able to maintain our standards of teaching & learning during the coronavirus pandemic." Huber expresses his gratitude for the trust placed in him and explains: "I see it as a great responsibility of a university to impart knowledge to young people, and to accompany them on a human level until they start their professional lives. I am very happy to be dedicating myself to this task for another three years, and will work hard to ensure that the optimal conditions for teaching & learning remain in place at the University of Bayreuth."

The University Governing Board

The University Governing Board manages the day-to-day business of the University and is responsible for establishing principles for evaluation and quality assurance. Prof. Dr. Susanne Tittlbach was appointed to the area of digitalization, innovation & sustainability only one year ago, which remains in the hands of the sports scientist. In addition to the Vice Presidents, the Provost and the Women's Representative remain key members of the University Governing Board. University Provost Dr. Nicole Kaiser is responsible for the area of business and personnel administration. She is in charge of University administration, and is budgetary officer and supervisor of non-academic staff. The Women's Representative Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wöhrl (Chair of Biochemistry IV - Biopolymers) is also on the University Governing Board. Her field of responsibility is the prevention of disadvantage towards female researchers, female teachers, and female students.

Portraitbild von Anja Maria Meister

Anja-Maria Meister

PR Spokesperson University of Bayreuth

Phone: +49 (0) 921 / 55-5300