Your browser is outdated. We recommend an update or using another browser to visit our website.

Ihr Browser ist veraltet. Wir empfehlen Ihnen ein Update oder einen anderen Browser zum Besuch unserer Website.
 
Flag of the Ukraine and peace dove

Bayreuth Bridge for Science

Bridge Funding for Researchers at Risk from Ukraine

Russia's invasion of Ukraine is a political, economic and humanitarian catastrophe. The war is also forcing numerous researchers who previously worked at Ukrainian research institutions to leave them and interrupt their research careers: no experiments, no conferences, no publications.

This torrential brain drain is exacerbated by the fact that these researchers upon arrival in new host countries have to rebuild a new existence, often without connections to an international network and without opportunities to continue their own research.

What is the Bayreuth Bridge for Science?

With the Bayreuth Bridge for Science, the University of Bayreuth offers bridge funding for researchers at risk from Ukrainian research institutions. These Bridge Fellowships enable researchers to establish a connection to relevant research groups at the University of Bayreuth and to explore further funding options from this safe location.

Contact

Dr. Mirjam Horn-Schott

Dr. Mirjam Horn-Schott

Research Support Office

Your browser is outdated. We recommend an update or using another browser to visit our website.

Ihr Browser ist veraltet. Wir empfehlen Ihnen ein Update oder einen anderen Browser zum Besuch unserer Website.
 
Flagge Ukraine und Friedenstaube

Bayreuth Bridge for Science

Überbrückungsfinanzierungen für geflüchtete Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen aus der Ukraine

Der Überfall Russlands auf die Ukraine ist ein politischer, wirtschaftlicher und humanitärer Katastrophenfall. Der Krieg zwingt auch zahlreiche Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen, die bisher an ukrainischen Forschungseinrichtungen gearbeitet haben, diese zu verlassen und ihre Forschungskarrieren zu unterbrechen: keine Experimente, keine Konferenzen, keine Publikationen.

Dieser sintflutartige brain drain wird durch die Tatsache verschärft, dass die Personen in den Ankunftsländern zunächst ohne Anbindung an ein internationales Netzwerk und ohne Möglichkeiten zur Fortsetzung der eigenen Forschung eine neue Existenz aufbauen müssen.

Was ist die Bayreuth Bridge for Science?

Mit der Bayreuth Bridge for Science schafft die Universität Bayreuth Überbrückungsfinanzierungen für geflüchtete sowie gefährdete Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen aus ukrainischen Forschungsinstitutionen. Diese Bridge Fellowships ermöglichen es den Forschenden, schnell Anschluss an relevante Fachgruppen an der Uni Bayreuth zu finden und aus dieser vorerst gesicherten Position heraus vor Ort weitere Förderoptionen zu sondieren.

Ihre Ansprechperson

Dr. Mirjam Horn-Schott

Dr. Mirjam Horn-Schott

Stabsstelle Forschungsförderung